Facebook's 'snooze' button mutes a friend for 30 days

Posted December 17, 2017

According to a Facebook Product Manager Shruthi Muraleedharan, "With Snooze, you don't have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone's posts for a short period of time,".

For example, if you've had enough of someone's political rants or baby photos, you can temporarily opt to see less of them in your News Feed.

Facebook will also give you a notification when this 30 days is about to run out, in case you want to snooze them again.

The new feature which is now rolling out will be available by clicking the option button (an arrow) at the top right of the post, and selecting the new Snooze option.

While the hide and/or report post options are focused on performing an action over a specific post, the new snooze option is focused on performing an action on the source of the posts, be it on a friend, page or group.

The idea is to give users more control over their news feed. Facebook's algorithms are sophisticated, but they haven't overtaken us yet.

The blog authors said Facebook employs social psychologists, social scientists and sociologists, "and we collaborate with top scholars to better understand well-being and work to make Facebook a place that contributes in a positive way". Facebook has announced some changes and the most important of them is probably the new "Snooze" button.

While Facebook still relentlessly uses its algorithms to show posts in your News Feed, there's at least a decent amount of customization users can do here.

"At the end of the day, we're committed to bringing people together and supporting well-being through meaningful interactions on Facebook".