Neiphiu Rio sworn in as chief minister of India's Nagaland state

Posted March 09, 2018

Rio will be assuming the charge of Nagaland chief minister for the fourth time. BJP's Y Patton was administered the oath as the Deputy Chief Minister by the governor. The oath taking ceremony was conducted by Governor P B Acharya at a public function.

Rio, who returned to state politics after a gap of nearly four years after resigning from the Lok Sabha in 2014, also said that his government would ensure that the "votes cast in his party's favour do not go in vain". "The people and the masses are the real high command", Rio said.

Source said that Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren Singh, and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Kongkal Sangma will also be present at the swearing-in ceremony.

He was elected from the state's lone Lok Sabha seat in 2014.

The former Chief Minister of the state, TR Zeliang denied resigning from the post as he wanted to have a word with the BJP President Amit Shah to form a government in the state.

The NDPP-BJP alliance, forged before the elections, managed to unseat the 15-year rule of the NPF as it garnered the support of the two MLAs to take their tally to 32 in the assembly.

Newly sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio on Thursday assured to bring settlement in the Naga political issue as soon as possible.

He was the Chief Minister of Nagaland for three terms (2003-08, 2008-13 and 2013-14), making him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms. The independent candidate Tongpang Ozukum and JD (U)'s G Kaito Aye were also inducted into the new cabinet.

The NDPP-BJP, which stitched a pre-poll alliance and contested in 40 and 20 Assembly seats respectively, formed the PDA with the Janata Dal-United, National People's Party and Independent member after the election results were declared on March 3. In January 2018, Nagaland's lone Lok Sabha member broke away from the ruling NPF after the party made a decision to sever ties with the BJP.